Females assume leadership, majority on newly seated Birmingham City Council

Photo via The Birmingham Times

Birmingham City Council on Tuesday saw three new councilors sworn in and a new president and president pro-tempore elected for the 2021-2025 term.

The newcomers are Corporate Realty project director Carol Clarke, district 8; Volunteer Lawyers Birmingham member Johnathan “J.T.” Moore, district 4; and Alabama Justice Initiative founder LaTonya Tate, district 9.

Meanwhile the council unanimously elected Wardine Alexander, district 7, and Crystal Smitherman, district 6 as president and president pro tempore, respectively.

The female majority council includes Alexander, Smitherman, Clarke, Tate and Valerie Abbott in District 3 who are joined by Clinton Woods (District 1), Hunter Williams (District 2), Darrell O’Quinn (District 5) and Moore.